Clarity

    Well, I feel like I am finally getting somewhere with this web page and with myself.  I have figured out what I’d like this project to be and the kind of format that works for me.  If you have any suggestions, I am all ears…eyes…you know what I mean.  I am thinking we need a recipe of the day and an exercise of the day so I will work to include both.  I am starting to feel like this website and experience could end up being just as much for you as it is for me.

     We got up early today.  My hubby and I loaded up our things and our dude and my little family hit the road.  We were off to see my brother, nieces, mom, and aunt and uncle.  Driving, driving, driving…

     As we drove we listened to music, talked, sang, and played.  I always enjoy a nice road trip with my Hubby.  We have great conversations and always enjoy the uninterrupted time together.  As we drove, I began to notice that a number of the “new” songs are just remixes or remakes of old songs.  I’m all for a little nostalgia but when did we run out of original ideas?

     It amazes me to look around and see kids dressed like we were 20 years ago.  Who’d of thought acid washed jeans or jelly bracelets would ever make a come back?  Seriously?  As I sat and thought about it I realized that a number of television show and movies are remakes too.

     My question is, “Have we run out of new ideas or have we just gotten that lazy?”  I’m thinking it might be a little of both but more of the latter than the former.  We have become such a lazy bunch that it is just plain sad.  I hope to do my part to stay out of that loop as much as possible.  I have a new-found appreciation for originality and effort…I also wonder if some of the stagnation in our brains is linked to our food and our lifestyles.  We are over stimulated as a society (I’m just as guilty as the rest) and too often, we rely on technology to overcome our challenges and solve our problems…I’m just saying.

     Our day was spent mostly driving and chatting and driving but one thing that was particularly entertaining was our sop at the gas station…for those of you that have small children, grandchildren, etc.  You understand that a toddler’s sole purpose in life is to touch or taste everything in their path. (I’ve actually witnessed my toddler trying to lick the dog)…so anyhoo…This idea would lead you to believe that a trip to a public restroom is a bad idea if not completely out of the question.

     Unfortunately my son and I were left to deal with it.  He desperately needed a change and I was reaching the point where my back teeth were beginning to float so we ventured into the ampm and tested our luck.  We get inside and of course there is no changing table and I can wait long enough to take my toddler back to the car and get back in line so I brave it, drop trough and realize that the stupid door is one that will pop the lock when the handle is wiggled.  My son is just tall enough to open the door and as I’m doing the math and beginning to realize I am about 30 seconds away from becoming the noon peep show at the ampm, in some miraculous maneuver I am able to reach just far enough to wrangle in my little one and scoop him up before he grasps that dreaded knob.  So there I am taking a whiz, trying to hang on to my son in one hand as he throws a huge fit…ahhh the joys of mommy-hood…next time he stays in the car and I will change his little behind on the hood if I have to.

     We reached our destination with plenty of time to spare, caught up with everyone, had a wonderful and mostly healthy dinner, and headed off to bed…not until after a swim of course.  Spent lots of time in the car and didn’t really get in a good work out today but I will shoot for more tomorrow.  Hoping this trip doesn’t blow my diet and weight loss.  We have an early day tomorrow and lots to do…off to the water park…so I must say goodnight and we’ll see you then…

Recipe of the day…

(Well two variations of a recipe today) 

Protein Balls

1 cup chunky peanut butter, creamy peanut butter, or almond butter

1 cup honey

1 cup raisins

1 cup quick oats

1-2 scoops of whey protein powder

½ cup pumpkin purée (optional)

  Heat 1 cup PB and 1 cup honey on low until smooth, remove from heat and mix in all other ingredients.  Roll into balls and refrigerate.

*One thing to note is that if you don’t use quick oats, the oats are very crunchy.

Protein balls II

1 c. peanut butte

1/2 c. raisins

1/4 c. honey

1/4 c. nuts, any kind

1/4 c. dry powdered milk

1/4 c. quick oats, grape nuts, or granola (optional)

Mix all ingredients real well together and roll into balls. Keep in refrigerator.

*One thing to note is that if you don’t use quick oats, the oats are very crunchy.

Exercise of the day…

Jump rope.  You’ll be amazed at what a great work out you get from such a simple activity.

Day 38/365

About hopi10

Thank you for joining me... I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

