P90X

     Feeling like today is going to end up being nothing but laundry and getting settled in after our trip.  I love to go places but it’s nice to come home too.  I enjoy the peace and joy that I find at home.  Our home is a happy place.  It’s usually a little dirtier than I’d like (thanks doggies) but other than some fur in the corners, it’s organized, pretty, and comfy.  It is one of my “happy places”.

     I feel at ease here and I know that so many of my memories are built around my home.  This is the first place my husband and I bought together.  It is where we had our son, his nursery, and all of his major milestones.  I will miss this place once we move on and I hope that whoever ends up here is as happy as we are and builds as many wonderful memories as we have.

     We have been discussing putting it up on the market and probably would have already if it wasn’t for our dogs.  We are concerned that we will not be able to find a good home that will be as accepting of them as we are.  I’m hoping that things will work out and by staying positive we will find our path.

     Have been doing lots of laundry and bumming around the house today.  Decided it would be the perfect day to start the P90X workout too.  My hubby was really successful with it and I have a few friends that it worked for too so I figured I’d give it a go.

     Ok, that was intimidating.  I felt like I wasn’t even going to make it through the warm up.  I don’t know how but I actually finished the warm up and the video.  I feel really good but I suspect I will be very sore tomorrow.  Hope this will help me burn enough calories to get me caught up after last week.

Recipe of the Day

      *Now I don’t know about you but I find myself with a sweet tooth occasionally and I have been trying to find healthy options.  I won’t do something like this when “dieting” but I would recommend once you’re at your goal weight and maintaining.

Healthy Carrot Muffins

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2/3 cup dark brown sugar

2 tablespoons wheat germ

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch fine salt

2 large eggs

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

4 medium carrots, grated (about 2 cups)

1/2 cup canned crushed pineapple, drained

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line twelve 1/2-cup muffin cups with paper muffin liners.

Whisk the flours with the brown sugar, wheat germ, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. In another medium bowl lightly whisk the egg, then whisk in the vegetable oil, and vanilla extract.

Quickly and lightly fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients with a rubber spatula. Stir in the carrots and pineapple just until evenly moist; the batter will be very thick. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups. Bake until golden and a toothpick inserted in the centers comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Turn muffins out of the tins and cool on a rack. Serve warm.

Exercise of the Day

If you don’t have an exercise/stability ball, I would recommend going to Wal-Mart or Target or Big 5 and picking one up.  There about $15 and such a great tool.  I use mine for ab routines, push ups, and a number of other exercises…sometimes I just sit on it work to strengthen my core.  Today’s exercise is on a stability ball.

Bridge

To work various core muscles in combination, try a bridge:  Lie on your back with your legs resting on top of the ball.  Tighten your abdominal muscles.  Raise your hips and buttocks off the floor into a bridge. Hold for three deep breaths. Besides your core muscles, you’ll feel the muscles along your backside — the gluteal muscles and hamstrings — contract to keep you in place.  Return to the start position and repeat.  For added challenge, raise your right leg off the ball. Repeat with your left leg.

Day 43/365

About hopi10

Thank you for joining me... I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

